ProQuest Research Companion
An intuitive, self-guided product that supports information literacy, writing, and research skills instruction occurring in today's libraries, classrooms, and online learning environments.
International Student Services
What can Touro Libraries do for YOU?
Confused by Library Terms?
Glossary of Library Terms
What are peer reviewed journals? Thesaurus? Interlibrary Loan? There might be many terms that are new to you. The University of Southern California hosts a glossary of Library terms that might help you.
The International Student's Guide: Studying in English at University
Publication Date: 2004-01-01
Academic Writing: A Handbook for International Students
Publication Date: 2014-10-03
A Different Road To College: A Guide For Transitioning Non-Traditional Students by Alise Lamoreaux is designed to introduce students to the contextual issues of college. Non-traditional students have an ever-growing presence on college campuses, especially community colleges. This open educational resource is designed to engage students in seeing themselves as college students and understanding the complexity of what that means to their lives.
All Ebsco Databases have the option to change the language of the search interface. Look for "Language" at the top right to make a selection. Search here to find articles from magazines, newspapers, and academic journals on a broad range of topics.
Dave's ESL Cafe
A popular and very frequently used website. Stuff for Students link contains idioms, quizzes, exercised, help with grammar and other useful information.
ESL Resources from UNC Writing Center
Handouts designed for ESL students on topics related to writing, academic integrity, and study skills, plus recommended language resources
Glossary of Library Terms
See definitions for common words used in libraries and research. Use the drop-down menu at the left to translate into a different language. From the University of Denver.
Merriam Webster Visual Dictionary
"The Visual Dictionary is designed to help you find the right word at a glance. Filled with stunning illustrations labeled with accurate terminology in up to six languages, it is the ideal language-learning and vocabulary dictionary for use at school, at home or at work."
Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL): ESL Students
"These OWL resources will help ESL students in second language writing. This section includes resources on writing across the curriculum, writing in the disciplines, and it contains links to OWL workshops and exercises useful for ESL students. This section also includes links to ESL resources on the Internet."
Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL): ESL Tools
Offers support materials for ESL students and teachers in the areas of grammar, mechanics of English, practice exercises, plagiarism and academic integrity, and workplace writing.
Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL): Plagiarism and ESL Writers
"Do you find yourself struggling to meet your instructor’s expectations for your writing when you are learning not only the subject matter, but also the English language? Does your instructor talk about the importance of 'writing in your own words?'” Learn more about avoiding plagiarism.