Skip to main content
ask a librarian logo

Jewish Studies

Jewish Studies

JSTOR

An academic database with a focus on the humanities; contains many scholarly Jewish studies articles. Many articles which are listed do not have the full-text provided; please use the ILL request form to obtain them. 

Chavrusa Match

A comprehensive listing of Jewish studies materials on the internet including Tanach, midrash, gemara, halacha dictionaries, and more. Has links to original Hebrew and some English translations.

Torah.org

Torah.org is the Project Genesis website. It has a small selection of English summaries of texts, arranged by beginner, intermediate, and advanced levels, from Pirkei Avos (Ethics of the Fathers) to a study of the writings of the Ramchal (Rav Moshe Chaim Luzzatto). Remember to click to access the archives at the bottom of the page for more on the topic. Torah.org also has archives from Project Genesis online courses in many subjects, including Torah text and Jewish Law. Go ahead and explore!

The Internet Sacred Text Archive

The Internet Sacred Text Archive has a decent section on Judaism, featuring English translations of Judaica resources as well as digitized English resources on various topics, such as Talmud and Mishnah, Midrash, Kabbalah, and Ancient, Medieval and Modern Judaism.

Talmud in English-Soncino

Downloadable pdfs and html versions of the Soncino edition of the Babylonian Talmud in English. The site also has a small selection of miscellaneous digitized Judaica books, plus some helpful Talmud resources at the bottom of the page.

Rashi

The entire Rashi commentary on Tanach available in English. 

Rambam-Mishneh Torah and Moreh Nevuchim

The Mishneh Torah (a significant compendium of Jewish law) from the sage Maimonides in English. 

Moreh Nevuchim or The Guide for the Perplexed is Maimonides' major philosophical work, and is widely considered to be the most influential book of medieval Jewish philosophy. The link below is to the 1904 translation into English by M. Friedländer.

Shulchan Aruch

English summary of certain parts of Shulhan Arukh, a compendium of those areas of the halachah -- Jewish religious law -- that are applicable today.

Stephen Spielberg Jewish Film Archive

The Steven Spielberg Jewish Film Archive was founded in the late 1960s by Professor Moshe Davis and other historians of the Hebrew University of Jerusalem. In 1987 a generous donation was received from Steven Spielberg and the Archive was named after the American filmmaker.

The Steven Spielberg Jewish Film Archive holds approximately 16,000 titles on film, video and DVD, constituting one of the largest collections of Jewish documentary film footage in the world. The vaults contain material shot in Israel before and after the establishment of the State in 1948, motion picture records of many Jewish communities in the Diaspora and two special collections relating to the Holocaust. It is particularly strong in its coverage of Zionist activity before and after 1948.

The Spielberg Archive has a growing collection of films made non-professionally in Israel and the Diaspora by private individuals. The value of such motion pictures is gaining increasing recognition worldwide. Many dozens of films in this category from the 1920s onward are held at the Archive and contain important documentation of both daily life and historic events.

Stay connected!

Like us on FacebookLike us on Facebook Follow us on TwitterFollow us on Twitter View our InstagramView our Instagram Read our BlogRead our Blog Watch our VideosWatch our Videos